Payet Shooting for WA Title Three Peat

To win one state title is good, but to be on the cusp of winning three consecutively is remarkable, and that’s exactly what Tom Payet will attempt to do when he hits the Perth Motorplex this Friday and Saturday night for the season 2016-17 Des Nash WA Wingless Sprint Title.

Just 22 years of age, the defending and two-time Champion has been a force to be reckoned with in previous seasons and will no doubt put up a strong defence in his effort to achieve a WA Title hat trick this Friday and Saturday night.


Photo: Peter Roebuck

Taking the fight to Payet will be his best friend, current and two-time Australia Champion Daniel Hartigan, who will be hoping to go one better after running second to Payet in the 2015-16 season running of the event. Hartigan has been in solid form of late, having recently won both nights of competition in the Manjimup Shootout at Manjimup Speedway over the New Year period.

Ashley Pittard also showed pace recently, running second to Hartigan in both nights of the Manjimup Shootout, and is expected to be a likely front-runner, along with Bradley Taylor, who rounded out the Manjimup Shootout podium with two third-place finishes.

Former WA Title holder Dean Gittos knows what it takes to achieve a state title victory and he will be hoping to regain the crown, while Bunbury’s Kyle Beard is very strong around the Perth Motorplex, having won the Track Championship there last season. Beard will definitely not make it easy for his rivals.

Matthew Iwanow has proven that he can win feature races, having scored the victory in the first race of the 2016-17 season at the Perth Motorplex over Hartigan and Payet, while rookie Brody Miller is also not to be discounted, after giving an impressive performance recently to finish just off the podium in fourth in the Manjimup Shootout.

Being held at one of the country’s premier speedway venues – the Perth Motorplex – the 2016-17 season Des Nash WA Title will take place over two big nights.

To find out more about the WA Wingless Sprints, visit their website at or LIKE them on Facebook by searching Wingless Sprints W.A.

WA Wingless Sprint Title Nominations:

W3 Matthew Iwanow

W4 Dean Gittos

W17 Brad Taylor

W23 Tom Payet

W29 Ashley Pittard

W40 Justin Wragg

W46 Dylan O’Connor

W52 Brody Miller

W56 Brendon Wedge

W57 Kim Beard

W72 Mitchell Harris

W77 Daniel Hartigan

W78 Mathew Fellowes

W84 Daran Humfrey

W96 Bradley Fitzgerald